NISA Independent Cup Returns With Bigger, More Competitive Field

Field Expanded to Nine Regions, 36 Clubs


Contact: Steve Johnson

CHICAGO (May 25, 2021) – The National Independent Soccer Association announces the return of the NISA Independent Cup for July and August with 36 clubs playing in nine regions across the country. Nine current and future NISA clubs will participate, as well as at least one club from eight different amateur leagues. Many of those teams come from amateur leagues that have forged affiliations with NISA in the past year. In a move to assist clubs deprived of a national stage due to the cancellation of the US Open Cup, NISA expanded the Independent Cup field to include a total of 28 amateur sides.

The Independent Cup, introduced last year as a regionalized competition, provides independent professional and amateur clubs a platform to play together on a national stage. The tournament kickoff date is July 9. Each of the nine regional competitions will crown a champion.

“The Independent Cup champions the independent spirit of open competition,” says NISA Executive Vice President Josh Prutch. “Over the last year, we have seen competition after competition get shut down. The Independent Cup gives these clubs more opportunities to compete, develop and succeed – and that is why we expanded the field for 2021.”

“FC Arizona is excited to showcase our clubs’ talent against new respected oppositions. It is a tremendous opportunity for our club to participate in this competition. We look forward to hosting and showing what our state and our team are capable of accomplishing.” FC Arizona Owner, Jamie Landreman.

All clubs participating will adhere to NISA’s Return to Play Protocol created and established with top medical professionals and in accordance with the CDC guidelines to ensure the health and safety of all clubs’ players, staff, and personnel. Regional competition also will adhere to state and local governance in place at the time of regional competition. Full details on the NISA Independent Cup schedule will be announced in the coming weeks. More can be found at


The Regions for the 2021 NISA Independent Cup are:

New England Region:

  • Lansdowne Yonkers FC
  • Mass United Rush FC
  • New Amsterdam FC (NISA)
  • Newtown Pride FC

Mid-Atlantic Region:

  • Allentown United FC
  • Atlantic City FC
  • Maryland Bobcats FC (NISA)
  • Steel Pulse FC

Southeast Region:

  • Atletico Atlanta
  • Chattanooga FC (NISA)
  • Savannah Clovers Football Club
  • Soda City FC

Great Lakes Region:

  • Detroit City FC (NISA)
  • FC Buffalo
  • Cleveland SC
  • Livonia City FC

Midwest Region:

  • Chicago House AC (2021 NISA)
  • FC Milwaukee Torrent
  • Med City FC
  • Union Dubuque FC

South Central Region:

  • Alexandria PBFC
  • LA Krewe FC
  • Lone Star Republic
  • Texas Spurs FC

Southwest Region:

  • 1904 FC (NISA)
  • Atletico Olympians
  • Cal United Strikers (NISA)
  • FC Arizona

West Coast Region:

  • ASC San Diego
  • Chula Vista FC
  • Los Angeles Force (NISA)
  • MAGIA Futbol Academy

Pacific Region:

  • Bay Cities FC (2022 NISA)
  • California Victory FC
  • PDX FC
  • Space United FC

Match streaming details will be forthcoming.

About NISA

The National Independent Soccer Association was founded in 2017 with a mission to bring professional soccer to every city in the United States. A pro league member of U.S. Soccer, NISA focuses on a model based on meritocracy, independent clubs controlling their own league, clubs owning their intellectual property, all without the barrier of territorial rights. A member of the U.S. Soccer Federation, NISA also runs the mid-summer Independent Cup, open to independent professional and amateur clubs alike. For more information about NISA visit or contact at Follow NISA on Twitter @NISALeague and on Instagram @nisasoccer.

# # #